Board of Directors

School of Science and Technology School’s board of directors are all unpaid volunteers who come from varied backgrounds in academia, medicine, science, and mathematics and share a common passion for education. The Board also solicits input and insight from various individuals and business community members in the San Antonio area.

Board nominations can be made by anyone, including existing Board members, School of Science and Technology’s employees, parents, alumni, and the general public.

The Board reviews the qualifications of nominees, seeking individuals who have expertise, experience, or leadership abilities that will contribute to maintaining a continued standard of excellence for School of Science and Technology Schools and its students.


Current Board Members


Dr. Turgay Korkmaz, Ph. D., President
Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, University of Texas at San Antonio

Mr. Christopher John Gieseke, Vice President
Consultant and Editor (specializing in editing foreign academic papers for publishing in American academic journals)

Mr. Memet Bulut, Treasurer

Dr. Suleyman Tek, Secretary, Ph. D.
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of the Incarnate Word

Mrs. Valarie Aktepe, Member
Physician Assistance, Texas Diabetes Institute